Knowledge Base

Dell DataSafe Online Service Frequently Asked Questions





Article Summary: This article contains information regarding "Dell DataSafe Online Service will be discontinued on June 4, 2015 and Frequently Asked Questions".


Dell DataSafe Online service was discontinued on June 4, 2015.

Dell DataSafe Online service was discontinued on June 4, 2015. Dell will service your existing account to its full term.

In anticipation of account expiration, Dell requested that all users of the service download their data from the Dell DataSafe Online account onto their computer. All remaining data will be permanently deleted from the Dell DataSafe Online system 30 days after account expiration.

As an existing Dell DataSafe Online customer, you will not be able to renew your account after June 4th 2014. This means that renewal opportunities will be available only until June 3, 2014 to coincide with the expiration of the service on June 4, 2015.


Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Question: When will I no longer have access to my data on DSO?

Answer: Your data was available to you for 30 days after your account expired. Therefore the last available date for accounts was 30 days post June 4, 2015 closure of the serivce. After this date no further access to data was available.

Question: How can I retrieve my data?

Answer: For the time period detailed above, access to data was available via the DataSafe site. This window has now closed and all data purged.

Question: What will happen to my data after I no longer have access to my account?

Answer: After June 4, 2015, Dell DataSafe service will be discontinued and no access will be provided. All stored data will be purged from the Dell DataSafe Online system

Question: What if I do not retrieve my data by the time my account expires?

Answer: Your data will be available to you for at least 30 days after your account expires. After that time, your data will be purged from the system. We recommend that you download a copy of your data before your account expires.

Question: Do you recommend any other backup options?

Answer: We recommend Dell Back and Recovery as a reliable backup option for Dell Customers

Question: Can I keep my existing Dell DataSafe Online account?

Answer: Dell is permanently discontinuing this program. You will be able to maintain your account until its current expiration date only.

Question: Can I get a refund if I cancel my account prior to expiration?

Answer: While you will not be able to renew your contract for an additional term, you are welcome to use your account for the full term of your current contract.



Quick Tips content is self-published by the Dell Support Professionals who resolve issues daily. In order to achieve a speedy publication, Quick Tips may represent only partial solutions or work-arounds that are still in development or pending further proof of successfully resolving an issue. As such Quick Tips have not been reviewed, validated or approved by Dell and should be used with appropriate caution. Dell shall not be liable for any loss, including but not limited to loss of data, loss of profit or loss of revenue, which customers may incur by following any procedure or advice set out in the Quick Tips.

Article ID: SLN292083

Last Date Modified: 12/06/2017 04:41 PM


Rate this article

Accurate
Useful
Easy to understand
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
Send us feedback
Comments cannot contain these special characters: <>()\
Sorry, our feedback system is currently down. Please try again later.

Thank you for your feedback.