This article provides information on Dell Backup and Recovery 1.8: Factory Recovery Media
Dell Backup and Recovery 1.8 enables users to create and manage Factory Recovery Media which will include all of the necessary files that are needed to restore your computer back to its current state. This feature is available to both Basic and Premium users. It is accessed by clicking the Factory Recovery Media tile.
From there, the user can access the following options upon entering the Factory Recovery Media screen:
Dell Backup and Recovery 1.8 allows Factory Recovery Media creation using any of the following:
To create Factory Recovery Media, follow these steps:
1. Click the Factory Recovery Media tile.
2. Connect the external drive and select by clicking on it once detected.
3. Once the drive is selected click Continue.
4.You will see a warning that states, Warning: This operation may take a while and cannot be cancelled. Click Yes when the warning pops up to continue.
5. You may see an Applications, Drivers & Utilities window with the following message:
Licensing agreements for some applications require that the installers be removed from your hard drive after you have completed the media creation process. These applications will not appear on your recovery media if you choose to create an additional archive copy, and they may not be available for reinstall using Dell Backup and Recovery.
Click Agree & Continue.
6. The application starts to create the Factory Recovery Media.
7. Click OK once the process is complete.
Users can delete systems that are no longer required from the recovery media from this screen.
1. From the Factory Recovery Media screen, click on Clean up Recovery Media
2. After any drives are detected, highlight the drive you wish to manage then click OK.
3. The system scans for media, you can then highlight a system you no longer want and then click Remove selected
4. A message appears:
Are you sure you want to remove this device from the Factory Recovery Media?
All files that are associated with that device will be removed.
If you are sure you have selected correctly, click Yes
5. The devices media will be deleted and return you to the Clean up Recovery Media screen, you can remove more or if finished, click Back
In this section, users can verify the Factory Recovery Media that was created for the system and repair it if any necessary files are missing or not recognized.
1. From the Factory Recovery Media screen, click on Check Recovery Media
2. With your Factory Recovery Media plugged in click on Check Factory Recovery Media
3. If errors are found the system will repair them automatically, click OK
In this section, users can move all recovery files from one location to another by selecting the current drive and the new drive. This is achieved without affecting any user data you may have on the drive.
1. From the Factory Recovery Media screen, click on Move your Recovery Media
2. Initially any plugged in USB drives will be shown, select the Current Drive and the New Drive, when ready click Continue.
3. A warning is displayed: Warning: This operation may take a while and cannot be cancelled, click Yes to continue.
The Media is moved and when completed successfully, the message: Migration ended successfully is displayed, click OK
Article ID: SLN297537
Last Date Modified: 07/19/2017 03:44 AM