Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 16th, 2020 17:00

Aurora R6, M.2 NVMe SSD compatibility, #5

Hello I would like to know which worth of M.2 NVMe will be compatible with the Alienware Aurora R6 and also if possible what's the interface? Is it "M" or "B+M"? Please let me know as it's my very first time upgrading my Alienware Aurora R6. Thanks. If possible it will be best if I could have a configuration where I have at least one storage like an M.2 and the rest I am planning of to get a NAS Storage.

6 Professor

• 

5.3K Posts

May 18th, 2020 18:00

The R6 will accept an "M key" M2 PCIE Nvme SSD like the Samsung Evo 970.  M key is the fastest option for this slot. 

Here's my post on upgrading: 

https://www.dell.com/community/Alienware-Desktops/Installing-3-x-1TB-M-2-Samsung-PCiE-NVME-Drives-in-Aurora-R7-8/m-p/7474557

26 Posts

May 18th, 2020 22:00

Just looked over it, I heard the max storage capacity for Aurora R6 is 3TB they mentioned on a guide saying 1TB SSD and 2TB HDD is it true they are limited or can I expand it even more?

6 Professor

• 

5.3K Posts

May 19th, 2020 04:00

Yeah, Dell doesn't sell it with drives larger than 2tb, so it's only validated with drives up to that size.  Larger drives will still work, but you need to initialize it with GPT (not MBR) otherwise you will only be able to use 2tb. If you're looking for that much space it may be more cost effective to get something like a 1tb m2 + a larger 2.5" SSD for additional  storage.  

26 Posts

May 20th, 2020 17:00

Also for how long have you kept this configuration and for how long do you expect your storage to be will intact before you need a replacement any estimations or guesses? Because my Dell 2TB 7200RPM HDD failed within 3 years of use so I just wanted to know whether the M.2 SSDs and the 2.5" SSDs which you own or posses will last longer than my HDD?

6 Professor

• 

5.3K Posts

May 20th, 2020 20:00