Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 15th, 2015 06:00

ALIENWARE M17x R4 Graphics issue GTX 675M

Hello all,

I have been using ALiENWARE since 2012 and its the best thing that I have worked on. Thank you guys for that!!

Since a month I have this graphics issue. There are a couple of things that happen. 

1. When I startup the system, after the windows logo, the screen goes black. The system is running normal. If I close and open the monitor screen, the screen turns back on. This does not happen during safe mode or when I uninstall the graphics driver.
  2. While playing any normal game for example, FRCRY 4, NFS THE RUN, METRO LLC, etc the computer freezes midway. I have to restart the whole thing again. i encounter issue number 1 as stated above again.

My configuration is

M17x R4. 3D Enabled.

GTX 675M currently running on NVIDIA driver v355.82

WIndows 7 (64-bit)

RAM - 24 GB

HD - 1 TB

Service tag #

Any assistance will be much appreciated. I do not want to see it go away.

Thanks a lot!!

7 Technologist

• 

4.4K Posts

September 15th, 2015 09:00

Hi, 

Make sure your system is running the latest Bios firmware, click here for the download link. Try reinstalling both the Intel and Nvidia drivers. You can continue to use the Nvidia driver that currently have since that is the latest version. For the Intel driver, use the version listed on the Dell support site. Let us know how it goes. 

Hello

Thanks for getting back so soon!

I will try what you asked for

before that a few other things

I checked the BIOS version. it says its designed for Windows 8.1 (64-bit). Will it work with Windows 7 (64-bit).??

Also when i tried to reinstall the INTEL driver from the resource DVD which came with the laptop, I get the error "THE SYSTEM DOES NOT MEET THE MINIMUM REQUIREMENT".

I am confused with this.

Kindly need assistance.

Regards

Ravitej

HELLO 

Thanks so much for replying.