Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 26th, 2015 15:00

Alienware 17 r2 2015 980m gpu with 180w psu, can I get the 240w?

when I was young, owning alienware was like a dreams. And finally yesterday that dream becomes true. And I am quite happy with that purchase.
But I was shocked with the limitations dell had put. 5400 rpm hdd? OK, this I could live with.
But a 180w power adapter!!!!! In a gaming laptop?? With 980m GPU!!! Really?! No, even 10 updates of the BIOS will not solve this issue.

Good news is, customers can get 240w power adapter
Bad news is, it is only for USA and Canada customers

And my question is, am I included as USA customer?
Note: I bought my alienware from Amazon, and I still waiting for it to reach my brother's US box.
And actually I don't want to ship it to my hometown "Saudi Arabia" without the 240w power adapter.

I don't want to spend extra money for the power adapter. Considering the fact that I'm a student, this laptop already cost me an arm and a leg.

Bottom line, as the ad says " the alienware 17 is for gamers who don't wanna compromise performance in any angle any possible component".
I don't wanna compromise performance with the 180w power adapter.
I trust Dell and I am really sure that one of the support team will help solving my issue.

Written with love to alienware and dell,,

April 27th, 2015 16:00

Hello Monta-Gh,

Once the computer arrives to your brother's address, you can tell him to fill the ownership transfer form here for you. After that, he can schedule the service for him to request the AC adapter swap by following this link.

After that is done, then he can ship the computer to you in Saudi Arabia.

4 Posts

April 28th, 2015 13:00

Thanks a lot Alexander for your reply.
I saw that article but the problem is that I don't have access for the service tag of my laptop, and my brother doesn't live in US. that's why I wrote this post.