Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 31st, 2015 09:00

Alienware 18 with dual AMD 290x connected to Asus pb287q 4k monitor goes on and off -unusable

I just received my brand spanking new pc and it's great. However i also bought 2 4K monitors from ASUS (PB287Q) and realized I have 2 problems. 

1. When connected to the 4k monitor via hdmi , the monitor screen goes completely blank and comes back, it does this if I have certain programs and not others. ie I'm a developer and if i open Android studio on the monitor , it immediately begins to flicker on and of. basically its unusable. However Outlook, Chrome etc all work on the same screen without a problem

I downloaded the latest amd drivers from this dell site, No Effect.

I noticed that if i lower the resolution a notch below the 3k, it doesnt  go on and off. So i'm tempted to think this is a driver issue and not that the monitor has a problem

2. How do i connect both monitors to the alienware? ie can i use the mini displayport and hdmi at the same time? or should i get a hdmi splitter?

The monitor going on and off is driving me insane and I hope someone has a solution.

Thanks

14 Posts

June 12th, 2015 00:00

Hello,

I downloaded catalyst from the link pasted at the bottom.

My flickering problem just magically went away. I'm not sure what did it. I used CRU (custom resolution utility) to lower the resolution to something like 3740x2160 and found that the flickering would stop. infact it seemed to be a problem with the horizontal refresh rate or something because if I put the monitor in potrait mode, no flikering.  I eventually went back to the native 3840x2160 at 30hz and it hasnt flickered since.

It could also be that some windows updates fixed the issue. I'm not sure which.