Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 28th, 2017 10:00

Alienware Aurora R3 upgrade

Hi i have an alienware aurora r3 with a nvidia 590. i also have 8gb of RAM and a intel core i7 2600k, if i replaced the graphics card would them specs be able to handle it and would you know how powerful the power supply would have to be? Thanks i am looking for an upgrade on this pc but i am new to this and have no idea what I'm doing, also i have an 8 pin connection would anyone be able to link me a graphics card or tell me if my pc can handle this thanks. 

8 Wizard

• 

17K Posts

January 28th, 2017 11:00

1. Hardware wise, it does not sound like this machine really needs an upgrade. Why do you think so?

2. This Aurora Release has issues with upgrades in general (like ram and video) so if it's working, I would not mess with it ... especially at your skill level.

3. Many forum users report the Aurora-R3 has issues with Windows-10 (64bit) upgrade and drivers due to BIOS

This is my standard response to users with Aurora-R3 wanting to do video upgrade.

==============================================

It should work if you have 875w PowerSupply, and it has the proper-pinned power-plugs natively.

Since it's Aurora-R3 you better get one with a Dual-BIOS switch that supports both Legacy and UEFI Hybrid.

Aurora R3 is maybe just EFI (not true uEFI) so it can't decide which it needs. Save yourself a lot of trouble and get one with a switch on the video-card.

Reportedly, some newer MSI & Sapphire cards have the switch. It was mostly reported/focused around AMD cards, so not sure if NVidia cards display the same issues.

You might have to un-snap and remove the Aurora's plastic video-card air guide if new card exhausts into case.

I also have this from my notes that someone wrote: