Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 10th, 2011 15:00

Alienware M17x R2 Random Daily Reboots and Rare Freezes

Hey People.

I've got a Alienware M17x R2 a few month ago and even since i got it even brand new out of the box i've been having issues with it just rebooting itself at random.

For a while it seemed to be gone aftrer i updated all my drivers from the Dell site, but then it came back..

Any idea what might cause this?
All that happens is in the middle of doing anything (or being idle) the screen flickers white then reboots.

I've also got some random freezes that happen very rarely, but the random reboots are my first issue as i work as a graphic designer and having my day's work be lost is kinda a bad thing.

Any Suggestions?

Thanks.

My System is:
Alienware m17x r2

8gb RAM

500gb SSD

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285M SLI

Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU X 940 @ 2.13GHz

13 Posts

Thanks! :D

And thanks for the reply, but my issue is not related to the NVIDIA Drivers (i think) because i did not install any drivers that were not on the dell website.

It is not freezing, it is just a quick flicker of the screen and a reboot. the minor freezing happens only once a month or so and is not a big issue, the rando reboots are more the issue.

Thanks,

26 Posts

I also using all the drivers from dell website and got the same problem with you :)

I am thinking maybe it is overheating issues at the moment.

Go and run your diagnostic at the pre-boot, maybe that could help you at the moment.

13 Posts

I ran every possible diagnostic on my system, pre-boot and post boot and all the windows stuff.

I even checked my windows event log and any thing that shows as "warning" or "error" i repaired and everything SHOULD be working fine.

And i can usually fix stuff like this, but this just stumps me. Everything on my system is working functioning just fine.