Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 4th, 2011 23:00

Aurora R3 Lockups & nVidia Driver problems

I received my R3 about 2 weeks a go. Worked great for about a week. Then nVidia driver has recovered from a failure message, followed by black screen lockups, blue screen of death, random reboots.

My specs are i7 960 2600k 3.4 overclocked to  4.1

16 Gb DDR3 Ram, dual nVidia GTS 450 (SLI). 2 Hybrid SATA 500Gb drives (Raid 0)

SLI option in nVidia control panel appears and disappears (along with other options) at random. Dell tech support has been totally useless (I used to be a tech support manager for a software company in UK and built most of the departments servers & desktops).

If you are running dual graphics cards, you are going to experience a discrepancy in GPU temps between the 2 cards. The ventilation system, in my humble opinion is flawed. There is a 22 degree (F) difference between upper and lower cards. Running CUDA apps (almost identical) primarily using the GPU's, the load on the hotter GPU is 98%, the cooler one is 83%. Now I have a second PC running an overclocked EVGA branded GTS 450. Running equivalent CUDA app, load is 98% but GPU temp is nearly 28 degrees (F) less than cooler one in the Aurora R3.

Electrical resistance is inversely proportional to temperature. The hotter components get, the higher the resistance. If you are running dual GPU's, you need to have both cards running at about the same temp. If you are gaming and SLI is enabled, the 2 cards are not strictly performing identically therefore you are going to get video problems, crashes, lockups, blue screens etc.

I have sent 3 messages to Dell/Alienware about the internal design and airflow within the chassis and, surprise surprise I have heard absolutely nothing. So much for their Resolution Center's "we'll get back to in 48hours" promise.

12 Posts

September 12th, 2011 13:00