Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 5th, 2012 17:00

Can Aurora R4 ALX take Nvidia GTX 680?

Does anyone know if it's as easy as taking the old graphics card out and replacing it with the new GTX 680 or is their limitations with the Aurora R4 ALX?

2.4K Posts

April 6th, 2012 10:00

It should be that simple. I would be shocked if you couldn't, I mean I can't see any reason why you can't. But then again you won't know for sure until you or someone else tries it.

Dells official stance will be something along the lines that the GTX 680 has not been validated for the Aurora yadda yadda. Just like they never validated 3 GTX 480s in my system. I had to just try it and see.

14 Posts

April 6th, 2012 10:00

I might have to wait and find out officially or from another user as even though I've only had my Aurora R4 ALX a couple of months ago, I'm so tempted to get the GTX 680 but I'm a novice when it comes to understanding power supply requirements, heating problems etc. Would love to hear what others think of this question.

14 Posts

May 18th, 2012 04:00

Hey! I supose this is a bit late reply, but in case you haven't decided yet, just wanted to let you know that I just got my new Alienware Aurora R4 with a GeForce GTX 680 sold by Dell. So if they sell it it's because it can be used with it (I guess)

The only issue I've had so far is that it seems after 36 hours of use, this graphics card died. On Monday I will get a replacement, hopefully this one will work properly and longer. :)

Good luck! ^_^

14 Posts

May 18th, 2012 08:00

Hi, thanks for your reply and very surprised to hear your GTX 680 has failed? I have yet to get the GTX 680 but am ready to purchase one now and probably get the one made by PNY. I have also been attracted to the GTX 670 too, allot of reviewers say it's not that much less in performance to the GTX 680 for the money, so I will be thinking on which one I get, the GTX 670 or 680?