Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 17th, 2013 08:00

M17x-R3, game crash, blank screen

I have a  similar problem with my Alienware M17x R3. I've been using it for almost 2 years now and only recently i've been getting game crashes where the screen goes completely blank and I can only resume by forcebly shutting down by holding the start button and restarting. I tried using it without the additional screen connected (via HDMI) but the problem stayed. I did a full system test with the PC doctor and the only test that failed was the primary surface test on the video card (GeForce GTX 580M) and the error message was "WVC07-L1M". After this I installed the latest driver from NVIDIA (320.49) but the same test failure and game crashed still happened. I even one of these black screen crashes when watching a movie (only once though).  Here is a image of a short video test I also did, can anyone help?

• 

3.3K Posts

September 17th, 2013 08:00

Hi Zorro990,

Please provide the system model and the Operating system to assist you further. Also let me know if you tried the steps suggested earlier by Dell – Saharsh K.

7 Posts

September 17th, 2013 13:00

Short Video Test.jpg

Hi Sujatha

Here is a screenshot of the online diagnostic I ran  on the Dell site, as you can see it was the short video test and the video stress test and the only one that failed was the primary surface test in the short video test with the error "WVC07-L1M". I am not sure what was suggested to fix this problem, I read this thread and I only saw that you suggested to run these 2 tests and to send the results, so this is what I did. Also the version of the nvidia driver I have installed is 320.49 and I installed it after I started getting these problems. The driver version I had installed when the problem started is 310.90

Also you asked for my system model and the operating system:
The model is a Alienware M17xR3 and I am running Windows 7 Ultimate x64.