Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 6th, 2015 08:00

Replacing stock cooling system on an Aurora R4 with a Corsair H75

I've searched around the web for some time now and gotten an H75 given it seems to be simpler than the H80i to install which, for a novice like me is a good thing. I'm not a total newbie however, managed to dissassemble the stock pump and clean it out, bought me another year. Aslo took pretty much everything out/off the case to clean the dust and hair(I've got some really long hair) from the harder to reach places and got everything back together again but that was done from memory. Now, I'm unsure just which pins to connect where, if I should be using the motherboard or the connectors overhead, in the top of the case? I've got a a few options but knowing my luck I'll wind up with my eyebrows singed again. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I've got the pump screwed on, the fans and radiator in place, it's just the wires I need help with. Sorry for the rambling, don't know when to stop typing.

8 Wizard

• 

17K Posts

March 6th, 2015 11:00

I think you can just follow their directions and hook-up like a generic computer.

However, if you want it to work with Alienware Command Center, I suggest you see if Cass-Ole has any more Adapters.

http://en.community.dell.com/owners-club/alienware/f/3746/t/19609280

8 Posts

March 6th, 2015 11:00

I went for it, the fans are both connected via the y adaptor to the sys fan pins, the pump is connected to the cpu fan. Nothings exploded, both the fans and the pump are running. No error messages anywhere and a new 'fan' has appeared on the alienware command center, the cpu pump has gone. Going to keep an eye on the temperatures as I start off easy, talking to some friends online before I start with more intensive gaming.

1 Rookie

• 

1.8K Posts

March 6th, 2015 16:00