Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 18th, 2016 16:00

Your Alienware PC, a disposable?

Heya! I'm a graduate strategic design student working on research about product repair & recycling, hoping to get some creative input from you all!

I was wondering about how attached you are to your Alienware product and how that translates to the way you take care of it.

At which point would you consider getting rid of your device and buying a new system, rather than changing/ upgrading components of the old one? And why exactly would you say that is? Is price a mayor factor for that, do aesthetics play a role, would past experiences with the device have an influence on you or is it just too much of a hassle at some point?

Or maybe, you wouldn't replace your device ever?

1.2K Posts

October 18th, 2016 18:00

replaced many, time for newer better...  upgrading modifying is half the fun , but has in consequences like I found out with my m18x R2 ..   but also was 3 years old.. and parted/ sold off rest complete recouped most of   my money..

M17x R1 (dual Nvidia 260's Core 2 duo ) didn't change anything

M17x R1 (dual Nvidia 280's core 2 quad ) left stock

M17X R2(dual amd  5870 First gen i7   )left stock

M18x R2 (dual 7970's then replaced with 680's(warranty replacement)  added solid states, added a i7 Extreme  modded bios, modded dual psu  and so on ,  then 980M's on my own ,  then fried board) but I paid more for this laptop then I did my truck, so after 3 years it still didn't even have a smudge mark on it.. it was 11/10 condition  so I sold it with known and was sold as such with person knowing board was fried..

X51 R3 .. small desktop .. ram from 8 gig to 16 .. modded  4 pin power cable for extra sata power plug..  added sata SSD , then swapped the  970 for a 1070 gpu.. who knows next..

so  ive gone from replacing to upgrading  it  just depends on what you want to do and what you got as a basis  to deal with.