BLKGOLD1
Bronze

M18x R2 HDD to SSD

hi im not computer wiz, and i rarely use this computer now because the thing takes forever to load anything and im assuming its the hard drive.. looking to switch and need advice as i've never done this before..

Dell Order Has Been Acknowledged - kevingillespie89@gmail.com - Gmail - Google Chrome.jpg
This is my build list, running windows 10..
now days basically watch movies/tv and a few games but nothing major..
looking for advice on What SSD will work and whats the best way to copy current hdd OS to the new SSD for a beginner..as its an expensive computer dont wanna fudge it up..

Also any tips on sound issues..speakers wont have sound but headphone jack works.. all drivers up to date.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
jphughan
Diamond

Re: M18x R2 HDD to SSD

Fyi, image uploads are unfortunately only visible to the person who uploaded them and to Dell reps.  That shouldn't be too large a problem here except that I won't what specific drives you already have in your system, but you may want to check that visually yourself before you buy anything.  The manual available on support.dell.com has clear instructions on that front.

Very quickly for the sound issue, assuming you mean the built-in speakers don't work even though the headphone jack works, that could be a loose speaker connection to the motherboard, or a strained/frayed wire between the motherboard connector and the speaker(s), or possibly something stuck in the headphone jack that's causing the system to detect something there and therefore disable the built-in speakers.