Highlighted
firesnow
1 Copper

17 R2, not booting

Hello everyone!

This is my first time actually writing a topic about a problem, so I may not be all clear at first, so ask out if you need more info.

I have my AW 17 R2 for a very long time that my warranty is now gone, so i decided to clean it because the temps start getting very high.

This is not my first time cleaning laptops, I also have a Dell that been cleaned many times because of high temps just the AW never needed it. 

After I assemble it back, it never booted again after post. It actually act on very weird way but it end ups with 7 beeps code (which I know is a CPU or MB failure but could be caused by many things too, so i really don't wanna count them out yet) 😞

The Laptop won't start at first. It will take few times (like 3) before it start the lights up. When it start, it actually light up the keyboard, fans start spinning but it restart several times (about 3-5 it happens differently) before it start beeping 7 times repeatedly until i shut it down. Haven't let it go for too long tho. I can't shut it before it start beeping.

I read the entire internet since then and open it about 5 times to do this or that or clean it. Here are few things i did:

- Tried discharging with and without battery by holding the power button,

- Removed and putted back the CMOS Battery, but i haven't change it. It was fine just before the cleaning, so i assume it's still working.

- Tried to "bypass" the POST by holding Fn button but no effect.

- After a few assembles i noticed little dot of thermal paste i  must left on it, but it's MX4 and it's not conductive, so it shouldn't be a problem. I clean it with  Isopropyl Alcohol 95% but decide mention it. I also clean few more things on the MB and around the CPU but that's all.