98silvz71
1 Nickel

Alienware 17 - No Video with 8 Beeps

I have been battling this issue for about 2 months now.  I have an Alienware 17 laptop.  I have had video issues for about 8 months or so.  At first it wouldn't display anything on the screen, the backlight worked but no video, you just had to let it boot to the login screen and power cycle it until the lcd displayed like it should.  That worked for about 6 months until one day it would display anything at all and gave me the 8 beeps.  I took it home and hooked up to a hdmi monitor and it still wouldn't display anything.  I have tried replacing the motherboard, the video cable, the graphics card, moving the ram to different slots, booting with the battery in or out, removing the cmos battery numerous times and still 8 beeps.  I got it to give me 6 beeps one time after I replaced the video cable but the next power up it went to 8 beeps again.  What gives with this thing?  Is there anything I can do to it to make it work or am I up a creek.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Highlighted

Re: Alienware 17 - No Video with 8 Beeps

Hello 98silvz71,

There are a few Alienware 17 models. For the most part the below chart represents the beep code errors and the failures. The 8 beep code represents an LCD failure.

The following table illustrates the Beep Codes and the possible problem:

Beep Codes
Beep Code Description Failure Coverage
1 System Board: BIOS ROM failure System Board, covers BIOS corruption or ROM error
2 Memory No Memory / RAM detected
3 Chipset Error (North and South Bridge Chipset DMA/IMR/ Timer Error for Intel platform); Chipset Error System Board Chipset Failure
Time-Of-Day Clock test failure.
Gate A20 failure
Super I/O chip failure
Keyboard controller test failure.
4 RAM Read/Write failure Memory failure
5 RTC Power Fail. CMOS battery failure
6 Video BIOS Test Failure Video card / chip failure
7 CPU Cache Test Failure CPU failure
8 LCD LCD failure

Social Media Support
#IWork4Dell