Toshiden
1 Nickel

Alienware amp

Hello everyone, I’m new to this so please bare with me. I bought a Alienware 17r5 laptop with a gtx 1070 graphics card in it to run VR. It runs awesome. Then I did some research and found out about the Alienware amp so I bought it. Well now I’m really nervous about all of this as I read that the 1080ti nvidia for VR is breath taking and obviously better than the 1070. Seems to be no need to go higher than that for what I want to do which is the Vive. Will the Alienware amp just fit the nvidia 1080ti or could I get the fancy graphics card with a million fans and it would work fine still? I saw the compatibility list for the Alienware. EVO or something like that is made with nvidia technology so I should be ok with this or no? Thank you for your time and help

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Toshiden
1 Nickel

Alienware amp

Hello everyone, I’m new to this so please bare with me. I bought a Alienware 17r5 laptop with a gtx 1070 graphics card in it to run VR. It runs awesome. Then I did some research and found out about the Alienware amp so I bought it. Well now I’m really nervous about all of this as I read that the 1080ti nvidia for VR is breath taking and obviously better than the 1070. Seems to be no need to go higher than that for what I want to do which is the Vive. Will the Alienware amp just fit the nvidia 1080ti or could I get the fancy graphics card with a million fans and it would work fine still? I saw the compatibility list for the Alienware. EVO or something like that is made with nvidia technology so I should be ok with this or no? Thank you for your time and help
0 Kudos

Re: Alienware amp

Hi @Toshiden,