Highlighted
Stashmaniac
1 Copper

Got my Alienware 17 R4 serviced and got it back in an even worse condition

Here is my experience with this laptop and Dell/Alienware which made me very unsatisfied.

Ever since I decided to order this machine it has been nothing but problems.
When I decided to order this laptop there have been order errors which lead to an order cancellation and me getting my laptop a month and a half later than I was supposed to. Which hurt me alot because I am attending college and I am a programmer which makes having a PC an ESSENTIAL. But this is just the beginning.
Then ever since I got the laptop the temperatures have been INSANE. Playing any game with decent (not good, but DECENT) graphics would thermal throttle the CPU and GPU within 4 minutes of gameplay.
I was in a really bad position because I cannot get my laptop serviced because I really need it for college and the wouldn't come to service it, instead they invite me over to come over in an E-mail reply.
After ~3/4 months I decide to get it serviced because I can afford it now because no college tests and stuff.
The service I used was "Kodeks", a certified Dell servicer in Croatia which is where I live.
They tell me it will take 7 work days at most which was just the right amount of time I could afford to be without a PC. But it turned out to be 2 weeks. Which caused me to fail my programming homework because I had no PC to work on at all. I attend a private college and failing a class is VERY EXPENSIVE. VERY!!!
Then when I FINALLY got it back the temps went from over 100°C to about 94°C. Which is still pretty bad in my opinion. They replaced the motherboard and the cooler by the way. This is not even the worst part.