Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

November 19th, 2015 02:00

Atmos Emc Metadata ,acl and paths on atmos

Hi,

I'm new at Atmos EMC, it is wanted me to use Atmos to store our file management system files.We use .Net technology as development environment, I use atmos-dotnet wrapper.It is easy to use but I have some questions about ACLs, Metadata and ObjectPaths.I want to understand exact purpose why we use ACLs, Metadata and ObjectPaths.I tried to find documents on site but links are broken I think.Is there anybody here to explain the purpose.Because to query an object we always use objectid, so why we need metadata etc.Is there a management interface to view files on atmos without using Atmos API ?, I have no idea.

Thanks.

110 Posts

January 20th, 2016 07:00

@ceycey, sorry for the extremely late reply.  I will try to address your question in two parts.  Part 1 will cover metadata and paths.

Atmos provides two methods of identifying objects.  Object ID is one, which is assigned to all objects by Atmos.  The REST context for object IDs is /rest/objects.  Another optional method is namespace path.  To have a path, an object must be initially created with that path.  The REST context for the namespace is /rest/namespace.  The namespace is roughly equivalent to a filesystem directory structure.  There are nestable directories and objects can be placed at any level.  This is useful in cases where you are migrating an application from filesystem storage to Atmos, or in any other case where naming your objects is useful.  Note that namespace objects also have an object ID and can be referenced by either.