Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 26th, 2013 09:00

Avamar 6.1

I am a Avamar newbie, I was just assigned to support this unit and was looking to see if some patient responders could answer me a few questions that I have regarding this backup solution. I have supported a Quantum DX30 before, which could be managed from within the unit and also ran on linux. Configuration was done via a web interface.

How does one login into the Avamar, through another device like a Linux or Windows server or straight through the unit itself? I asked because currently I have the Avamar ILO cabled to a enclosure KVM and I get no connectivity so either my ILO port is not functional or there is a second device that allows me to interface, which would mean a software install.

Thank you to htose that respond.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

Being a "newbie" I would suggest that you don't mess around on the CLI just yet.  I would look for a Windows server or workstation that you can use as your "access point" that has DNS name resolution to the name of the Avamar server and IP connectivity then install the interface per the instructions above.  The lights out controllers are generally configured by default and are normally only used by EMC Support.

9 Posts

I cannot access remotely, so logging in will be done in front of the unit with the MCUser account. The unit is not on our network, meaning it is in a workgroup. My online training starts 8/7 and I wanted to login and traverse the unit. So either I put a monitor/keyboard and or mouse to it or try and KVM it.

I take it the Avamar server is self reliant and therefore no other device (server) is needed? The OS (Linux) is what you guys interface with either in front of the unit or via web? Is the ILO configured to be off by default? I'm sure someone else has it racked and connected to an enclosure KVM.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts