Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 26th, 2013 07:00

SQL maintance file Command Line Backup

HI Guys

I am new to the whole Avamar thing so please forgive Me if this has already been posted

We are not going to use the Avamar SQL plugin to backup our SQL databases, we use a maintenance schedule to dump the DB backup to a flat file

so my question is, is there a way to instruct avamar to backup up a the flat file once it have been created via command line?

thanks in advance

Chris

266 Posts

August 26th, 2013 11:00

Hi Chris,

You could do this with pre and post commands/tasks in MCS for your client or to involve a script on client side.

Rej

1.1K Posts

August 26th, 2013 21:00

configure the backup job via GUI, and run it to make sure it can work.

open the backup log and extract the complete avtar command on the top of the log.

put the extracted avtar command in an OS script and schedule it using OS tool by running it after DB flat file is created.

please mark my answer as "correct/helpful answer" if it helps.

12 Posts

August 27th, 2013 01:00

thanks guys i will give them a try and update

Chris

12 Posts

August 27th, 2013 08:00

HI when we try and run the nothing happens

from the top the command line says

avtar --sysdir="C:\Program Files\avs\etc" --bindir="C:\Program Files\avs\bin" --vardir="C:\Program Files\avs\var" --ctlcallport=4237 --ctlinterface=3001-Windows-XH_SQL_TL-Snapper_TL-1377610200100 --logfile="C:\Program Files\avs\var\clientlogs\XH_SQL_TL-Snapper_TL-1377610200100-3001-Windows.log"

1.1K Posts

August 27th, 2013 18:00

well, the avtar command might have some inappropriate parameter value here such as logfile because it should be generated by the command itself other than being specified manually, so my suggestion for now is organize your own avtar command referring to the command guide and give it a try. good luck.

please mark my answer as "correct/helpful answer" if it helps.

12 Posts