Highlighted
i_prasana
6 Indium

Recommendations for blade servers

I am a newbie to the world of blades and as we look ahead to the next build out I want to see if it is worth exploring.
Out environment runs a lot application servers on PE1950 - the faster the chipset better.
We are seeing best utilization from the the quad code cpu
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5430 @ 2.66GHz
cpu MHz : 2660.005

Memory on a typical server is 8G.
From looking at the M1000E it seems to offer a compelling value proposition fitting 16 server in a 10U profile;

1. is the power consumption proportionately lower than deploying 16 x PE 1950?
2. which of hte io subsystems will be shared among the guest nodes on the chassis ? these are web servers so network is a valued resource.

Recommendations/ insights, experiences would be great to hear.

thank,
-prasana
0 Kudos
6 Replies
8 Krypton

RE: Recommendations for blade servers

The power consumption of a blade chassis with 16 blades is lower than 16 1950s - assuming that you compare comprable configurations. I haven't found any single whitepaper or study that compares the 1000e blades chassis and M600 blades with a 1950, but by looking at the numbers from two different studies I think you can get a general idea.

In this study on blades efficiency - http://www.dell.com/downloads/global/products/pedge/en/pe_blades_specjbb2005.pdf - a full chassis under pead load consumed 3524 watts or aprox 220 watts per blade.

In a study that Scott did on Virtualization workload consolidation and the power savings that you can achieve he measured the Power Consumption of a 2950 under high load at 440 Watts.

So even though these two numbers are with different workloads, I think that you can draw a general conclusion that blades are more effiecient.