Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 15th, 2012 10:00

AX4-5i Disk Processor Enclosure Faulted

We have an older AX4-5i iSCSI san that used to be part of our VMware 3.5 production environment. We have recently decomissioned/moved all of the servers from the old environment and are left with this piece of hardware. I have been able to get the username/password/ip address to log into the device.

My plan were to use this AX4 as a storage device for our new ESXi 5 lab. So far everything I have seen looks ok on it except that upon logging into it I get the message "Disk Processor Enclosure - Faulted". Everything else checks out as normal.

I will admit Im pretty new to EMC and SANs in general but this seems like a good way to start to familiarize myself with them. My first question is what exactly does this error message mean and is it a showstopper?

I have disconnected all of the hosts from this SAN could this be the reason that it is showing the faulted state?

Any help or guidance is appreciated.

1 Attachment

4.5K Posts

February 15th, 2012 12:00

The two entires at the bottom of your scrren cap shows the Standby POwer SuppliesB and A as "Empty". These are the battery backup units that take the input the power in and provde the output to the Stoage Processors. These provide protection in case of power loss and protect the system cache from losing any data when you lose power. It appears that these have either been removed and the power plugged directly into the Storage Processors.

The array will work this way, but the errors are because you have no Standby Power Supplies connected to the array. If you run in this mode and lose power, all Writes that are currently in System cache will be lost and possible data loss will occur.

If you go to the following link, this will provide all the documentation for the AX4

https://support.emc.com/products/CLARiiONAX4-5

glen

61 Posts

February 15th, 2012 13:00