Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 27th, 2013 23:00

CX-2 DAE question

Hello EMC community

I have an CX-2 DAE which I am trying to pair up with a cheap SPE. I have asked around and a person was kind enough to offer a compatibility list, what I am looking for is to see what the lowest-cost option would be. I know I need a SPE with vault drives to get it all running but all I have been able to find so far on ebay is upwards of $2500 even for the oldest systems. Does this sound about right or is there some option I am not aware of? I bought the DAE for around $300 so I was hoping that the rest of the system would cost around $500.

This is my first build and it is for a home lab. Basically, if you were me, what would you do? If it costs $2500-3000 to get the lab going, so be it. It will just take longer to pull the money together than I originally intended.

1.4K Posts

September 2nd, 2013 00:00

Hi Foxinc,

I reckon, I have already posted couple of times not to buy parts from eBay especially for home users like you and me. There are multiple reasons behind it:

1. We hardly get a compatible part and get it working. (after so much trouble)

2. In future, component failure(s) you not only will get disappointment but also either a faulty replacement part from eBay or if you want a part from the MFG. i.e. EMC the cost will be high for an individual.

Well, getting a home lab actually depends on what exactly you are looking for?! What sort of environment you are trying to build? etc.

My honest advice will be, if you can get rid of that junk for the same price, sell it back on eBay! Research on the inter-webs there are nice people around the block who have shared their builds and home labs!

Ankit

4K Posts

September 1st, 2013 22:00