Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 1st, 2013 04:00

Clariion CX4 - Failed Drive, how can i tell if Hotspare has kicked in

Hi

I am new to the storage world so please excuse me if i'm asking simple questions.

I have a failed drive on a CX4 and received an email so a call has been raised with EMC to swap it out.

How can I tell if the Hot spares have now taken its place so my RAID Group is still protected?

Also I see there is an option in unisphere for replace disk, do I need to do this when the disk arrives or can I just pull it and swap it with the new one, currently the slot with the failed drive is showing as removed so the drive is dead.

Lastly do I need to do anything in unisphere to activate the new drive or is it all automatic.

Thanks

Nick

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

November 1st, 2013 06:00

Hello, in Unisphere, you will see the failed drive say "transitioning or rebuilding". Not sure the exact verbiage with newest code. Wait until it states "removed" with no other indicator. Once that's complete the HS has taken over and joined the RG. When you get the new drive, just pull out old one "Amber light" and push new one in. Then, automatically Unisphere will tell you it's rebuilding back. Once complete, it will not have any "T" or any indicator on that failed drive and the new drive will then be back to RG as you were prior to failure. My terminology may be slightly off due to new Unisphere wording but just make sure the drive ONLY says removed with no other activity or indication that it's copying to HS and you can then just pull and push new one in.

4.5K Posts

November 5th, 2013 14:00

Was your question answered correctly? If so, please remember to mark your question Answered when you get the correct answer and award points to the person providing the answer. This helps others searching for a similar issue.

glen

12 Posts

November 5th, 2013 15:00