Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 9th, 2009 06:00

How to merge multiple NAR files

I'm pretty new to the CX range, and have recieved no formal training, so excuse my ignorance, but i have cut NAR files for a full week, and archived them off, i retreived my NAR files for each SP, and would like to merge them all into one large file to load into anaylzer to get some figures for the full week.  How do i go aboy combining the 20+ NAR files together?

Thanks in advance!

727 Posts

December 9th, 2009 07:00

You can only merge two files together at the same time. So, if you have three nar files that you want to merge you would merge the 1st and 2nd files together . Then repeat the process by taking that merged file and merge it to the 3rd file.

The CLI command is:

analyzer -archivemerge

The naviseccli analyzer command with the -archivemerge command lets you merge two archives from the same SP into a single archive.

See page 49 of the
http://powerlink.emc.com/km/live1/en_US/Offering_Technical/Technical_Documentation/300-004-210_A04.pdf?

As a side note, never merge SPA and SPB's files together. They contain the same data so there is no need to. We only really collect both side in case one logger becomes stuck and can't log the data to the file.

One last thing to point out, if you merged many days of data together and then try to display it in Navisphere, the data points will now represent more time than what the original polling rates took the data at.

The analyzer display in Navisphere can only display 156 data points, so depending on the time frame you specify (say Monday through Thursday worth of data) it will begin merging data points to satisfy this 156 point requirement. Then a two minute average turns into an average of say 1.5 hours and the data is basically useless. This is the main reason why some people do not merge files together.