happyadm
3 Silver

Navisphere Analyzer Thresholds

Jump to solution
Hi,

My analyzer thresholds got wiped using Navi 6.19. I searched through the Analyzer Admin, Install Guide, and Release Notes and cannot find a chart with the defaults or any suggested recommendations. I am a relative newbie on the SAN and my company has not been able to send me to a course pertaining to this just yet. Any feedback would be helpful. The DBA's are asking for LUN throughput data.

Thanks a bunch!

happyadmin
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kelleg
5 Rhenium

Re: Navisphere Analyzer Thresholds

Jump to solution
For Best Practices use the following:

Utilization - 70
Queue Length - 10
Response Time - 20

When you use these, look for LUN's with all three thresholds in RED - the LUNs with all three red are problem LUNs. These are the firgures that EMC uses to gauge whether or not a LUN has a performance problem.

regards,

glen kelley

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
happyadm
3 Silver

Jump to solution
Also, the particular values I am referring to are on under tools > analyzer > customize> survey chart.

Thanks again!

Happyadmin
0 Kudos
kelleg
5 Rhenium

Jump to solution
For Best Practices use the following:

Utilization - 70
Queue Length - 10
Response Time - 20

When you use these, look for LUN's with all three thresholds in RED - the LUNs with all three red are problem LUNs. These are the firgures that EMC uses to gauge whether or not a LUN has a performance problem.

regards,

glen kelley

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
happyadm
3 Silver

Jump to solution
Thank you Glen, much appreciated!
0 Kudos
happyadm
3 Silver

Jump to solution
One question Glen, what would be a good number to use for the interval?
0 Kudos
kelleg
5 Rhenium

Jump to solution
Keep the interval at 0, it makes it more complex if you use a larger number.