Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 6th, 2009 09:00

Slow backups

We have a CX3/40C and aren't getting expected backup performance (NetBackup) from our user fileshares.
RAID Group 3 is 5x 750GB SATA-II disks and has 8 LUNS, total 1774GB used. It takes 41hrs for the last Full Backup job to finish! 3.1MB/sec/disk
RAID Group 2 is 4x 750GB SATA-II disks and has 1 LUN, 999GB used. It takes 22 hrs for Full Backup. 4.31 MB/sec/disk
RAID Group 6 is 9x 300GB FC2 disks and has 2 LUNS, total 1473GB used. It takes 21 hrs for Full Backup. 2.49MB/sec/disk
(NB All RAID-5, so subtract 1 disk from calculations because parity only)
I have tuned NetBackup to maximise buffers & block-sizes etc. The backup goes to disk (RAID-3 sets in other DAEs) before being duplicated to 2 tape libraries, 2 LTO4 drives in each library. All the backup jobs start at the same time, so RG3 has 8 simultaneous jobs.
I am not a Navisphere expert but have logged last weekend's performance. From the graphs, I see that :-
1. a typical RG3 disk runs at 60-70% utilisation throughout the backup period (i.e. whether 1 or 8 jobs are running simultaneously), and this only comes down to 16% when no jobs are running. Why? - a typical RG2 disk runs at 20-45% utilisation, and a RG6 disk at 20-30%; both drop to 4% when jobs have finished.
2. RG3 disk queue-length is 1.5-2.5 throughout the backup period (RG2 & 6 <1).
3. Typical RG2/3/6 disks show read-sizes about 30-60KB during backups, rising to 350/100/200KB after jobs finish. Maybe having a lot of small files (Word docs etc) is slowing down our backups.
4. Neither the destination RAID-3 disks, nor the SPs seem to be anything like maxed out, even when our Exchange disks are backing up as well (Exchange backups run at about 150MB/sec for 2 hrs onto the same RAID-3 disks