Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 16th, 2009 08:00

How do I reboot a data mover?

I'm a Celerra newbie and for the life of me cannot find an option to reboot a data mover. Can I do this through the Celerra Manager web interface or the Navisphere web interface? There is no problem with the equipment but I am in the process of qualifying the Celerra where I work and one of my functional tests is that the data mover boots without error but I can't find a way to "gracefully" reboot it.

Also, is there a quick log I can view that shows the boot up process that I would be able to use as proof that it booted error free?

Thanks in advance.

1.5K Posts

Hi,

Welcome to the EMC support forums.

You can reboot a data mover through Celerra Web Manager or from Command Line (CLI).

In Celerra Manager - Under "Data Movers" - select the server_x on the right pane and right click on it to select "Reboot".

Using CLI - the command is

server_cpu server_x -reboot now

to shutdown the data mover, in place of reboot you can choose -halt.

However, using these options do not initiate a data mover failover - so you have to be absolutely careful on a production environment.

You may consider failing over the data mover to standby data mover - which will reboot the original data mover in the process to failover to the standby data mover.

In other words, if server_2 is running on slot_2 and slot_3 is the standby one - failover server_2 so that it now runs on slot_3 and slot 2 gets rebooted. The command will be
server_standby server_2 -activate mover

When you fail back from slot 3 to slot 2 - server_2 is back on data mover 2 (slot_2) and slot_3 gets rebooted - the command will be
server_standby server_2 -restore mover.

Please refer to the "Celerra Network Server System Operations" document available on Powerlink or User Documentation CD for more details.

Hope this helps,
Regards,
Sandip