Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 28th, 2015 13:00

NS-120 Ethernet Channel Cisco Switch Configuration

I'm a network engineer involved with connecting a NS-120 Celerra/Clarion to a Cisco 3750G switch stack.  From the NS-120, it looks like its configured for Ethernet Channel (see below).  I need to create port channels on the switch stack.  The port channels will not cross switches in the stack.

What my reading has not revealed is if this the same as Cisco EtherChannel?  Do I use the Cisco interface command:  "channel-group <#> mode ON" to create the channel?

[nasadmin@cs0219 ~]$ server_sysconfig server_2 -virtual

server_2 :

Virtual devices:

ESX-NFS devices=cge0 cge1

CIFS-WORM devices=cge2 cge3

fsn failsafe nic devices :

trk trunking devices : CIFS-WORM ESX-NFS

[nasadmin@cs0219 ~]$ server_sysconfig server_2 -virtual -info ESX-NFS

server_2 :

*** Trunk ESX-NFS: Link is Up ***

*** Trunk ESX-NFS: Statistical Load Balancing is IP ***

Device Link Duplex Speed

------------------------------------------------------------------------

cge0 Up   Full     1000 Mbs

cge1 Up   Full     1000 Mbs

[nasadmin@cs0219 ~]$ server_sysconfig server_2 -virtual -info CIFS-WORM

server_2 :

*** Trunk CIFS-WORM: Link is Up ***

*** Trunk CIFS-WORM: Statistical Load Balancing is IP ***

Device Link Duplex Speed

cge2 Up   Full     1000 Mbs

cge3 Up   Full     1000 Mbs

4 Posts

May 1st, 2015 08:00

A colleague pointed me to an EMC document, "Configuring and Managing Celerra Network High Availability".  The snippint below answers my question that the EMC Ethernet channel is compatible with Cisco EtherChannel set to switch mode "On".

"For example, the Ethernet channel implemented in the Celerra Network Server works in conjunction with the

EtherChannel paradigm developed by Cisco Systems. The Celerra Network Server requires statically