Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 17th, 2009 12:00

Rsync from Solaris/Linux server to Celerra share?

Hello all, newbie here.  I'm a windows admin and know very little about Linux and nothing about Solaris so here is my question.  I need to basically backup a directory and it's sub-directories on a nightly basis from both a Solaris server and another Linux (Red Hat) server to a share sitting on my Celerra NS20.  I can make this share either NFS or Cifs(samba) but I am not allow to mount the share on either the Solaris or Linux server.  I've been googling and haven't found anything that talks about rsyncing from a solaris/linux server to a Celerra so I'm hoping someone here can help or at least point in the right direction.

Thanks in advance

8.6K Posts

other alternative - if its just a small number of files or large file you could use a small ftp mirror skript on the clients

the Celerra supports ftp natively and its not bad for large files

1 Rookie

• 

20.4K Posts

you don't need to mount source on the utility server, only the destination (Celerra in this case).  Rsync client on the source machine sends data to rsync daemon running on utility server.

8.6K Posts

what kind of data ?

1 Rookie

• 

20.4K Posts

can you stand up another linux server ? If yes, you could mount Celerra NFS exports on this "utility" linux server, setup rsync deamon and then use rsync from Solaris/Linux clients and send data to this server without needing to mount anything. I am actually doing that right now only with another vendors backend storage.

8.6K Posts

since the Celerra doesnt implement rsync natively you would have to go through an intermediate server that mounts both the srs and dst as dynamox suggested

However I would try to negotiate with the Solaris and Linux admins.

Often they dont want NFS mounts because they fear the problems that non-working NFS mounts can cause during booting and runtime.