Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 23rd, 2009 08:00

Relationship between access profiles, clusters and pools

Hi All:

I am new to Centera SDK programming, so please forgive what maybe a set of obvious questions.  I have read the EMC Centera SDK Programmers Guide (3.2)and the EMC Centera SDK (3.2) API Reference Guide.  I have also downloaded and built the Centera SDK samples compiled and ran them.  Specifically the GetClusterInfo sample.

I ran this particular sample first with just an IP address for US2 (128.221.200.60) and retrieved information from what I assume is the default "access profile" associated with the cluster.  I noticed that "privileged-delete" was turned off. I then ran the sample with the same sample with the same IP, but this time added the pea file to the connection string that had privileged-delete capability associated with it. I noticed that the results had "privileged-delete" turned on.

1. Is the first run with the sample the general cluster capabilities or did I retrieve the capabilites of the the default access profile? 

2. Is there a way to enumerate all the pools in a cluster through the SDK calls and what content they have access to?  If there is, can you get the capabilities of each of these these enumerated pools?

3. Can you have content being accessed by more than one "access profile" that have different capabilities?

4. Can you change the behavior of an "access profile" once it has been created?

Thank you in advance,

K

136 Posts

December 23rd, 2009 13:00

Hi K,

I recommend that you review the white paper on Virtual Pools.

All access rights (read,write,delete, privileged delete etc.) can be granted/removed at the cluster, pool and profile level.

1. When you connected to cluster with just the IP (no access profile) you got capabilities for the "default" pool/profile, and when you connected using the PEA file you got the capabilities that were allowed for that particular pool.