Highlighted
bfldworker
1 Copper

Constant unending scam calls from someone saying they are Dell support

For the last several months I have been getting calls from 800-624-9896‬, which I was able to trace back to Dell. Now I do own a Dell 15 2 in 1 that I bought last year, I wiped it and installed Windows 10 pro and I am member of Microsoft Insiders. So I am constantly wiping and reinstalling Windows when a Insiders messes something up. That is the only Dell I own the other PC's are ones I build myself and my wife owns a iMac Pro for what she does. So there is no Dell apps from factory on the XPS.

Now I am by no means a moron. I have been building PC's since 1983, I am have been a IT Admin for 19 years. So I can smell BS coming when it comes to security vulnerabilities. So Imagine my utter and complete surprise when I started getting phone call from someone who sounds Indian saying that they (Dell) got a alert to a security issue with my Dell PC. That a Virus was detected and they are willing to fix it. I said no that must be a mistake because the one Dell I own doesn't have the factory copy of Windows 10 on it, etc, etc,etc and he got pushy. After dealing with his garbage for 10 minutes I told him to go somewhere and hung up. 2 hours later another phone call from someone else saying they are Dell, and that they detected a security issue with my PC. And this has been going on for months now 2-3 times a day.