Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 16th, 2015 17:00

I am done with Dell

I am leaving dell after almost 20 years of loyalty. I am a business owner and have purchased 30+ computers, laptops, and printers over the years. Recently i purchased a computer for my business and received a free Samsung TV. I upgraded to a wifi compatible TV for $75.

The tv was damaged upon receipt (it was no surprise given how under-packaged it was) and I called dell to return it. They no longer had the Samsung tv so they gave me two choices; 1) return the entire order, including the computer that i had already received 3 weeks prior, and that i had already spent significant time and money to put into my work network; or 2) take a $50 credit to future products.

I guess you could say there was a third option, and that was that i take my business elsewhere. I know that sounds ridiculous, but both times i called them to work out something, they said as much. I made it clear to them both times that the two choices offered were not practical or made good business sense, especially since i had already put my computer to work and spent $75 to upgrade to the wifi tv, leaving me $25 in the hole. After pushing them a little, they did raise the credit to $100, which still only netted me $25 ...  and no t.v.

Both times, I talked to a "support" member and a "manager" and they were very clear that $25 was it. i made it very clear that they needed to replace the tv with another t.v. (maybe an LG, which they continue to market on their website), or compensate more than $25 for the loss of the tv, and for a long time customer. Again, they made it very clear that, even if it meant losing a long time customer, the matrix they use for these issues only allowed for a $25 credit.