• 

274.2K Posts

June 24th, 2015 06:00

Recovery from a mtree replicated DD

Setup.

DD01 on site1

DD02 on site 2

Backup application NetBackup or BackupExec

Backups are taken using DDBoost to a DDboost storage unit on DD01 using the backup application. In addition DDBoost for Microsoft Applications is utilised to enable the DBA's to backup the SQL servers from the SQL Server Management Studio to another DDBoost storage unit on DD01.

DD01 is replicated to DD02 using DD Replication Mtree replication method.

Scenario.

Site 1 is trashed by fire/Jumbo jet/Godzilla

How is recovery of the mtree replicated data stored on DD02 enacted? I don't believe that the backup application is aware of the replicated copy nor that SQL management studio would be aware.

This does not exist yet so any comments on this would be appreciated.

73 Posts

June 25th, 2015 08:00

I have limited experience with Symantec software but have experience with the general process with other backup software.

1. make the mtree on replication target accessible

* break mtree replication and enable ddboost, nfs or cifs as needed

* possibly create a new mtree and us fast copy

* Create users and assign access as needed.  mtree replication doesn't replicate users.

2. Restore application

*If its a site outage you probably have to restore or reinstall MS SQL and Symantec.

3. Restore backup data

* DBA can restore data from replication target either via management studio or command line.  They select the replication target as the source of the restore.

* Most backup software has a process of scanning media and importing backups.  It may make the process easier to rename DD02 to DD01.  Depending on change rate, amount and type of data and bandwidth the mtree at the replication target might be several hours behind and I do not know how well Symantec software will handle it.