Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 16th, 2012 11:00

DELL 8400 - Reinstating Settings after Battery replacement, plus 6 BEEPS...

Hi

I'm having problems with my Dell 8400, which has been brilliant for the last 5 years, so I'd like to try and save it rather than scrap it just yet.  On the other hand I'm a complete novice and in a terminal state of anxiety over taking the side off my machine!!

First thing that happened a while back was, the system battery was running low - I was advised that this didn't matter too much (maybe it doesn't), just had to press F1 to start and the date would be wrong. I decided I could live with that, and opted not to replace the battery rather than open up the computer. Now the computer beeps 6 times on startup, sometimes the fan goes crazy, the screen is black and the diagnostic lights at the back are Yellow, Yellow, Green, Green. According to the manual, this means a memory problem.  Other people seem to have had the battery issue prior to this happening, so I'm not sure whether this is part of the same problem, or just a coincidence.

What I am hoping to do, first, is to have a look inside and reseat the memory for a start. I also have a replacement battery but am not sure whether to do the memory first, or the battery. Second, I've read that when replacing the battery, I need to make a note of the settings on startup as they will be lost, but given that I don't have a startup screen since the other problem developed, I don't know how to get the settings again afterwards.

Any ideas on the order in which I should proceed - and how to get the settings back ?

Thanks!

2.7K Posts

January 16th, 2012 12:00

Hi Mistletoes

I have a 8400 and the battery gave out on it a few days ago and it gave me all kinds of problems

it said i had bad ram and other things so i replaced the battery + side up on it if i remember right!