Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 12th, 2010 10:00

Dell Dimension 4500 Desktop and Windows 7

I am rather new to community, but have been using a Dell Dimension 4500 Desktop since purchased in Sept. 2002 from Dell.

I bought system with Windows XP Home and upgraded to Windows XP professional and presently have it on SP3 and Windows Explorer 8 with all current updates.

I want to know if this system can run Windows 7 ?   A Microsoft scanner program I used showed that the Video Card needed to be upgraded and also need to change the Network adapter.

Present information shows:  Display Adapter as NVIDIA GeForce 4 MX 420   Network Adapter as CNET PRO200WL PCI Fast Ethernet,  Processor is An Intel 4 CPU 2.53 GHZ  Ram is 1.0 GB and that is max that can be installed.

Can someone give me so assistance ?

Thank you

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

February 12th, 2010 10:00

It likely can, but you won't be able to use the fancy Aero interface with that video card - so you'd need  a new video card.  At that not many AGP cards are available any longer.  Also, since the RAM ceiling on this model is only 1G, even if you've maxed out the memory, you won't have enough RAM to run 7 well (yes, I know 1G is OK with Microsoft, but it's really too little when you start running programs under 7).

If you want 7, buy a new system with it.

2 Posts

February 12th, 2010 15:00

Thanks ejn63 for your response.

So may I ask what is an AGP Video Card and would Dell have one available for this system or must I look somewhere else ?

I understand the problem with the 1 G Ram, but can't add more.

You did not mention anything about the Network card, I know that needs to be replaced.  If I had gone to Windows Vista would have needed a new Network Card at that time.  How do I find out what is required and where might be purchased ? Again Dell or some other dealer ?