Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

G

May 30th, 2013 19:00

Dell Inspiron 570 Upgrade Questions

First of all, I'd just like to say that this forum (along with Tom's Hardware) has been a great help in finding upgrade ideas for my machine. Kisianik has made most of the posts that I've found, so these questions are aimed more towards his work, but I'd appreciate as many responses as I could get.

I just installed an HD 7770 GPU (which made an enormous difference over the HD 4200) and a CX500 PSU a few days ago, but I'm looking to upgrade the CPU as well. I've already purchased an AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE, a DeepCool 92mm Ice Edge 400 XT, and some ArtiClean thermal/cleaning compound, but I have a few questions I'd like answered before they arrive in the mail.

1. My machine was purchased in 2010, so I still have the A02 BIOS. Will I need to update this to A06 for the CPU to work? And is updating the BIOS dangerous? I've never done it before, but I've heard many horror stories about flashes causing permanent system damage.

2. Before I installed my new GPU, I monitored my CPU temperatures for a few days. I've noticed that my current CPU (Athlon II x4 630 2.8 Ghz) idles around 45-50C with only 4-5 tabs open in Chrome. I don't know much about CPUs, but this seems really hot to me. The temperatures are consistent and I can only assume that they've been this high since I got the PC 3 years ago, but I don't really know. I'm worried that the Ice Edge 400 XT cooler won't be enough to compensate for the extra 30 watts of the new CPU. Is this something I should worry about and address before installation or should I just monitor it afterwards and make sure its not overheating? I'm basically asking whether or not I should buy extra fans.

Some notes to consider:

- I will be using the original 570 case and will not be changing it unless I buy a new motherboard (which I don't want/plan to)