Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 2nd, 2014 17:00

Dell Inspiron One 2305 Will Not Turn On!

I have an Inspiron One 2305 that will not power on or show any indication that it will boot. I have seen many forum posts on similar topics and it seems as if some of these Dell All-in-ones are defective, specifically the Inspiron One 2305. Regardless, my unit is out of warranty and I am a PC Repair Tech so I would like to get it working. I have tried the power reset that Dell agents recommend in many similar posts (holding power button down for 15-20 seconds).

Recently, the power button had a amber light but would not boot. I had the AC adapter plugged in and disconnected it from the wall. It seemed like that shorted something out...for what reason, I do not know. Now, the power button won't even light up. I took the back cover off the computer and made sure that all of the wires were connected. I have tried a different Dell AC Adapter and still, can not get the power button to turn the unit on or light up. HOWEVER, I can see that when I plug the AC adapter in, there is a light on the motherboard labeled R334LED2 and it is illuminated. This makes me believe that the problem does not lie with the AC adapter or the power supply (if there is one). 

By the way, if there is a power supply, I don't know where it is. It seems to me that this all-in-one basically works like a laptop in that the AC adapter is essentially the power supply...AC adapter provides power to the motherboard and from there, all of the power branches out to the peripherals and components such as the hard drive, CD rom.