Dell Optiplex 755 Removing CPU Fan

I have a Dell Optiplex 755 mini tower and the past week or so there has been a ticking noise coming from the cpu fan area. I am not getting an error code when running diagnostics, it honestly just sounds like something is in the way causing the noise. I want to remove the fan and try cleaning it, but I have never done this before do not want to damage my cpu. I have looked on the Dell site trying to find maybe documentation on how to do this, but can not find anything and i dont have warranty any longer.

Does anyone know of a site or where on the Dell site to find documentation/videos on how to remove a cpu fan in a optiplex 755?

0 Kudos
14 Replies
The_Namek
4 Ruthenium

Re: Dell Optiplex 755 Removing CPU Fan

valley_girl1919,
Start here <ADMIN NOTE: Broken link has been removed from this post by Dell> for the Optiplex 755 user guide. Choose the appropriate chassis type from that page then proceed to the Removing and Replacing Parts section. You shouldn't have trouble locating instructions for how to remove the CPU fan there.

XPS One. Core2 Duo @ 2.2GHz. 2 GB DDR2-667. WD2500AAJS 250GB SATA. Intel GMA 3100 video. 20" WSXGA HD LCD. 2 Megapixel Webcam. 8X DVD±RW. 8-in-1 Media Reader. 802.11 a/b/g/n wireless. Integrated High Def Audio. Internal Bluetooth 2.0. NTSC/ATSC TV Tuner. Windows 7 Professional SP1.

0 Kudos

Thanks for the reply. I looked in the Removing and replacing parts section and did not see anything for removing a cpu fan. I will keep looking.

0 Kudos
7- Thorium

It doesn't specifically address the fan, but it does address the fan/heatsink assembly.  If you do that, make sure you have some new heat sink compound (Arctic Silver) as you will need to replace it.  This is not a job for many and if you don't have some hardware repair experience I would recommend not doing it yourself.