Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 9th, 2014 20:00

Dell Tower won't turn on/boot - (inspiron 545)

Hello my name is Sebastian Todd, I've been using my dell computer for more than 2 years now with absolutely no problems affecting it, due to my proper maintenance. About 1 month ago, I turned it off by clicking the "shut down" button. Ever since then, I haven't been able to turn it back on. When I push the power button on the tower, it emits a yellow/orange light for about a quarter of a second. I know for a fact that there is a sufficient power supply, due to the green light being emitted on the back of the tower. I don't know what to do, and am not economically ready to purchase a new computer. PLEASE HELP! (inspiron 545)

- Sebastian Todd

10 Elder

• 

46K Posts

April 9th, 2014 22:00

sebtodd

Does the power supply fan run/work?

The green light on the back of the power supply does not indicate that the power supply has not failed, it only indicates that power is reaching the PSU. 

What colour is the power button light, is it Blinking, Solid or Off?

Are there any 'Beeps'?

The Inspiron 535/537/545/546 Service Manual, is here:

ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_inspiron_desktop/inspiron-546_Service%20Manual_en-us.pdf

The Troubleshooter, is here:

ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_inspiron_desktop/inspiron-546_Setup%20Guide_en-us.pdf

Bev.

10 Elder

• 

46K Posts

April 12th, 2014 12:00

sebtodd

First tturn off the desktop, remove power cord and hold power button in for about three minutes, reconnect power cord and power system on and see if this makes a difference.

No difference, try the following, if you are comfortable working around computers:

Note: The only 100% method of testing a PSU, is to install a known working power supply.