Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 1st, 2009 13:00

Dell XPS 730x overclocking frustration?

I am new to this so I will try to be short and sweet. I overclocked my XPS 730X to 3.6ghz. It is air cooled. I have a 2.6 i7  with 6gb 1066ram. Do I need to increase voltage maybe. I am confused. Does anyone have some settings I can match exactly? Should I mess with the memory more? Here are my settings:

Overclock Configuration

CPU BClk (mhz) -180
Spread Spectrum -Enabled
Adjust PCI Freq -Auto
Adjust PCI-E Freq -100
Intel Turbo Mode Tech -Disabled

Overvoltage Configuration

CPU Temperature Sensor - 48 C/ 116F
V core -1.296 V
Dynamic CPU Vcore Offset - +40
DDR3 Memory Voltage -Auto
IOH Voltage - 1.10v
QPI and uncore voltage - +040mv

Advance DRAM Config
7 Dram Clocks
trcd-7 dram
trp-7 dram
tras-20 dram
trfc-59 dram
twr-8 dram
twtr-4 dram
trrd-4 dram
trtp-4 dram
1T/2T-2T

I run Windows Vista 64 with no issues and can play Sins of Solar empire and Star Trek Legacy with no issue. Temps are around 48 celsius, but I when I run the latest version of prime95 about 2 minutes in the pc reboots. No error message appears. I have 6GB 1066 DDR3 ram with a GTX 285 1024gb. Are any of my settings off? Why can I run my games and desktop fine, but when i do a stress test it reboots? My temps never go over 50 celsius. This is all new to me so I am learning on my new PC.

650 Posts

July 1st, 2009 17:00

Why can I run my games and desktop fine, but when i do a stress test it reboots?

First of all, if your PC runs fine while gaming and on the desktop, why are you running a stress test? 

Before you overclock anything, you need to find out what your RAM voltage is supposed to be.  When you raise the CPU BClk (base clock), it also overclocks the RAM.  If you have RAM that isn't overclock friendly, that will cause instability issues.

This is what I have my settings at and my PC has yet to give me any issues.

Try these settings -

CPU Bclk - 160