Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 6th, 2013 15:00

Dell hard drive scan suddenly says motherboard check failed

Hi, this is my first time on the forums.  I am an older lady.  I bought a Dell desktop in 2009.  I am on social security, so I can't afford to update the warrenty.  I do the Dell default scan as recommended.  It said "passed" in all categories until today, July 6th.   One item didn't passed, I think it was system something (low tech and it shows) and it said there was a problem with the motherboard.  I haven't done anything different to my computer.  I use Microsoft Security Essentials to scan for viruses, spyware, etc.  I am using MSN IE9 as my browser, it works well for me.  I am on AOL, that's the only email I have & the only website I joined, been on it since 1995. Nothing has changed on AOL.

I play free cPogo games using Java, which I keep updated.  I've never had a problem.

The only conflict I can think of is that I also have AVG free anti-virus, anti-spyware installed as well as Microsoft Security Essentials.  Should I uninstall AVG?  What could the problem be with the motherboard & I'm wondering why it just cropped up suddenly.

I got a printer/scanner/copier with the Dell computer when I bought it. In other words, it came with the computer, it was part of the package which also included keyboard, mouse, flat screen & speakers.  I don't have a wireless system.  I used Verizon FIOS & have a router.   The printer is an Epson Stylus NX110.  A couple of weeks ago I replaced the cartridges & the printer suddenly stopped working.  I've replaced cartridges many times & never had a problem.  I called Epson & received new, free cartridges; it was determined that the ones they sent me were faulty.  Printer still wouldn't print, but it scanned.  I downloaded new drivers for the printer, following the instructions on the Epson website & also using Microsoft help website.