guthlaf
1 Nickel

Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

My Dimension 9100 is still singing along after all these years and I am going to be getting 2 more gigs of RAM to bring it up to 4 gigs total.  Was just wondering if I need a bigger power supply as it has the stock 375W one in it.

Here is the specs on my pc:

Pentium D 2.8 ghz
Radion X600
Soundblaster 24
ATI TV Tuner (could remove this - usually just use to get VCR footage onto PC)
2 Internal Western Digital hard drives (80 gig and 320 gig)
dvd drive
dvd burning drive
drawing tablet

I dont really game but do use it for photoshop/flash development.  Thanks!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
7 Plutonium

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

guthlaf

No, there is no need to replace the default 375w power supply, to use the additional memory.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

9 Replies
7 Plutonium

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

guthlaf

No, there is no need to replace the default 375w power supply, to use the additional memory.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

guthlaf
1 Nickel

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

Does it look like I may need one with all the stuff that I am running now anyway?  Thanks for the quick reply!

0 Kudos
TheRealFireblad
4 Ruthenium

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

 

Does it look like I may need one with all the stuff that I am running now anyway?

 

If your system is running smoothly with the PSU which is in it, and all you're upgrading is the RAM, then (as advised already) you don't need a more powerful PSU.

The only reason you might need to consider a more powerful PSU, is if you decide to upgrade any of the more power hungry components - particularly the graphics card

From experience, I've found that:   “Beauty is in the eye of the beer-holder”!!

 

XPS M1730:

Smoke Grey Magnesium Alloy Chassis - with White LED Backlights
17" UltraSharp WUXGA Widescreen TFT (1920 x 1200) with TrueLife
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T9300 @ 2.50GHz (800 MHz FSB, 4MB L2 cache)
4GB (2x 2GB) Patriot Signature PC2-5400 @ 667MHz
DUAL 512MB Nvidia 8800M GTX cards in SLi + 128MB Ageia PhysX
640GB SATA II (2x 320GB WD Scorpio Black 7200rpm)
8x Super-Multi DVD±RW
Creative X-Fi Notebook (ExpressCard) + Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II
Integrated 2MP Webcam
Dell Wireless 355 Bluetooth 2.0 Module
Intel Next-Gen Wireless-N Mini-Card
TV Tuner and Dell Travel Remote Control
4-in-1 Flash Card Reader (SSD/MMC/MS Pro/xD)

230W AC Adapter / 9-cell Lithium-Ion Battery

Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit)

0 Kudos
7 Plutonium

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

Does it look like I may need one with all the stuff that I am running now anyway?  Thanks for the quick reply!

 

 

guthlaf

No, there's no need to upgrade the power supply, for your current configuration

If you wish to upgrade the power supply, the 9100 does not use a Dell proprietary power supply, most standard ATX power supplies with either, a 24-pin or 20+4-pin main motherboard power connector and a minimum of two SATA power connectors, can be installed.

As the D-9100 has an open back panel, a power supply with or without the on/off switch can be used.

You should be able to buy a suitable power supply from a local computer store.

Bev.
        

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

0 Kudos
7 Plutonium

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

Does it look like I may need one with all the stuff that I am running now anyway?  Thanks for the quick reply!

 

 

guthlaf

No, there's no need to upgrade the power supply, for your current configuration

If you wish to upgrade the power supply, the 9100 does not use a Dell proprietary power supply, most standard ATX power supplies with either, a 24-pin or 20+4-pin main motherboard power connector and a minimum of two SATA power connectors, can be installed.

As the D-9100 has an open back panel, a power supply with or without the on/off switch can be used.

You should be able to buy a suitable power supply from a local computer store.

Bev.
        

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

0 Kudos
guthlaf
1 Nickel

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

Thanks for your replies!  And be nice to my graphics card...  Smiley Wink

0 Kudos
7 Plutonium

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

guthlaf

You are welcome.  

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

0 Kudos
Highlighted
guthlaf
1 Nickel

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

Along the lines of power supplies, I received this on Christmas but dont know if it is strong enough to power my pc.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842102032

It says 330 watts but my power supply is 375.  I just want something that will give me some time if the power goes out while the computer is up.  Will this work or do i need something more powerful

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
7 Plutonium

Re: Dimension 9100 - Need a bigger power supply?

Jump to solution

guthlaf

It should work and allow you to shut the computer down 'elegantly', if you have a power failure.

Bev.

 


If my answer was helpful, please click: Kudos
Forum Member since 2001
I am not employed by Dell

0 Kudos