Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 12th, 2014 15:00

Display issue with a DVI-I splitter from Dell Optiplex to Panason TV

Good evening! 

I work in IT so my understanding of these things is higher than that of a novice and part of why this issue is so frustrating. Also it should be noted that i am also posting this in Microsoft support forums to cover all bases. 
Here is my goal:
To use my Panasonic LED TV model TC-L47e5 as my primary and only monitor for a Dell Optiplex 745
My Setup:
The Dell  uses a DVI-I splitter (DVI & VGA) as it's output for monitoring devices. I am using a DVI (male) to HDMI (female) to connect to one of my HDMI inputs on the TV. 
The problem:
Before I got the adapter for the DVI I was using the VGA with no issues whatsoever. However, once I hooked up the DVI to HDMI setup, it worked great until I unplugged the VGA from it's connector on the back of the TV. The screen went black even though it was on the HDMI input. I have tried updating drivers, configuring display settings, etc and nothing will allow me to run the DVI-HDMI setup without also having the VGA plugged in. If I switch back to the VGA input on the tv I see black. but if I unplug the HDMI, I can see the desktop. It's very strange, but it seems as thought the VGA display adapter takes over, which makes no sense, since the pc outputs through a DVI-I connection splitter. I have been scouring the internet for a solution and this tiny hiccup is driving me nuts. Any help that you all can provide is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

5 Posts

January 13th, 2014 06:00

The back of the machine uses a DVI-I connection that has a DVI-I plug that splits into VGA and DVI. 

9 Legend

• 

47K Posts

January 13th, 2014 06:00

No such thing as DVI Splitter.

No such thing as VGA working DVI or HDMI without Analog to digital converter.

DVI to hdmi works but without audio.

DVI - D is Digital only and not related to DVI-A aka VGA