Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 15th, 2008 02:00

Forgotton Passwords

Hi Guys,

I am new to Dell computers but do have some knowledge of computers, having built my own for my 60th birthday, some years ago!! So knowledge level would be basic I think.

I am trying to sort out my grandson’s computer it is a Dell Dimension 2400, about 5 years old I think. He is running Windows XP Pro. He has Administrator privileges. The motherboard is Rev A000.

He has managed to enter a duff password somehow and he cannot now enter his computer. I thought I would use the Password jumper PSWD on the motherboard to clear the duff password. I downloaded the Manual for the 2400 from the Dell site, and that is where the fun begins!

The manual says "the Password jumper PSWD has the Jumper Plug attached to one pin only for shipping". This is not so, it was definitely connected to both pins. The wording on the motherboard, by the Jumper PSWD pins says OFF CLEAR PASSWORD ON NORMAL.

However, I went through the routine for clearing the password given in the downloaded 2400 manual. Nothing, the computer is still seeking a password. I was not asked to press F1 as a matter of interest either.

My son-in-laws other computer is a Dell Dimensions 8250. I have the manual for that (the procedure would fit a computer with Plug on the jumper pins as above), so I carried out the procedure (page 130/1) given in that. No luck the computer is still seeking a password.

Any help or advice on this would be very much appreciated

Thanks

Galmington

11 Posts

December 17th, 2008 04:00

Hi Hanspuppa,

Many thanks for the help.  I realised later that the Motherboard password jumper does not affect the Windows Password logon!