Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 20th, 2009 12:00

Help :[ Dell Inspiron 531 + Vista: Which Nforce drivers should I be using? Latest updates?

I like to keep my computer up-to-date, but I'm fairly new to this and I'm not sure which Nforce drivers to get for my Dell Inspiron 531. From what I understand, I'm supposed to get Nforce4 drivers, but there are so many to choose from on the Nvidia site, and I don't know which I specifically need for my PC. I want to have the newest version of the drivers, but I don't know which of these Nforce drivers I need.

Also, I have an ATI Radeon HD 4850 GPU in my computer, but I'm not sure if the integrated graphics are turned on or off. I checked the bios, but there was no option to turn it off. Does it just automatically turn off when it detects a graphics card?

I know I probably sound like I'm asking for too much and being a pain, but are there any specific updates to drivers for my Inspiron 531 that I should be looking for? I know the Dell site has some, but I don't trust that they're up-to-date.

Thanks in advance :emotion-2:

14.4K Posts

January 20th, 2009 16:00

for your nforce go HERE

For the video question, look in the bios under the PCI/PNP configuration section if there is nothing changeable then the bios will sense the card and disable the onbord.

Bios updates should always be gotten from Dell. Your sound card if installed and video drivers you should go to the vendors web site for the latest drivers.

3 Posts

January 20th, 2009 16:00

Thank you very much for the reply, I appreciate it. :emotion-1:

Just one question about the Nforce4 drivers. The link that you provided doesn't mention Windows Vista, so is it ok if I install these on my Vista machine? Or is there a Vista version I should be looking for? If so, I don't know where to find the appropriate Vista drivers, haha. It's all confusing for me since there are so many versions. Thanks.

14.4K Posts