Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 7th, 2010 10:00

Help needed cloning/replacing old hd for new on Dim 3000

Hi,

I need some help cloning and replacing my old hd in my Dim 3000.  I can't find a Dell link that shows how to do this. 

I'm a newbie so I need simple steps for this .:)

I have the new hdd and the cable so I'm ready to go!

Thanks for any help you can give me.

LB

8 Wizard

• 

47K Posts

Hi,

I need some help cloning and replacing my old hd in my Dim 3000.  I can't find a Dell link that shows how to do this. 

I'm a newbie so I need simple steps for this .:)

I have the new hdd and the cable so I'm ready to go!

Thanks for any help you can give me.

LB

APRICORN DriveWire IDE/PATA/SATA to USB Hard Drive Adapter ..

Overview

The DriveWire IDE/PATA/SATA to USB Hard Drive Adapter from Apricorn is an ideal solution for transferring the data from a desktop or laptop PC to a new hard drive in a few easy steps. With this DriveWire Adapter you can easily transfer your OS, data, applications, documents, address books, e-mail, settings and preferences - from the old drive to a new drive, in few easy steps. DriveWire Adapter is bundled with Apricorn's ‘Upgrade Suite’ which features EZ Gig II cloning software for Windows and Shirt Pocket's SuperDuper for Mac. Just attach your 2.5" or 3.5" hard drive to the appropriate connector on DriveWire's cable head. Then connect the AC power adapter and the USB cable. Now, boot up your computer using the "Upgrade Suite" bootable CD and make and exact clone of the old drive onto a new drive. After the transfer is completed, install the new hard drive into the desktop or laptop, and the computer will boot up just like normal.

14 Posts

Hi Speedstep,

Wow! fast response! I appreciate your posting that link but I should have noted that I have Win XP and Acronis True Image software that I'd like to use. I'd rather not purchase anything else.:)

LB

8 Wizard

• 

47K Posts