Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 31st, 2008 00:00

How to properly remove Creative X-Fi from your xps 730 H2C?

How to properly remove Creative X-Fi from your xps 730 H2C? Do I need to remove the card and then uninstall the drivers or vice-versa?

418 Posts

ArmandStanger wrote: 

and i have heard in forums before that if i don't wear something called anti-static wrist band or something like that, the motherboard will be fried. now if i don't have the band, there is another thing i can do which is to touch a certain part of the computer. can you please tell me where exactly i have to touch to make sure i don't have any electricity in my body. should i do the whole thiing barefooted or should i be wearing sandals, shoes etc? i know these are all noob questions but i have never done anything like this before. 

thanks once again for your support :)

Once you have the case open.  Just touch a metal part of the frame of the case before you touch anything else.  Make sure you still have the powercord plugged in when you do this.
If you walk away and come back, make sure you discharge yourself again.

513 Posts

I would remove the card first. 

This way the operating system is not tempted to find new drivers on its own once you remove the drivers.

I hope this solves your issue.

terrific logic. i just wanted to make sure i wasn't going to mess up my 7000 dollar aircraft lol. thanks and by the way, when the back part of the PC is facing me, do i open the right hand side or left hand side part of the casing? back part of the PC means the side where you plug in your power cable, vga/dvi adapter etc.