Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 21st, 2009 20:00

Is there any way to turn off or change the flashing light on the power button of a Dell Studio XPS in standby mode?

I tried to search for this topic, but couldn't find it on the forums (though one thread said it was asked before).

The flashing light on the power button when the computer goes into standby is really annoying.  This is the first time I've used Vista, though I'm not a novice to PC's.  I was wondering if there is a way to either stop the power light from flashing off and on during standby or (even better) change it so it turns amber during standby mode.  My old Vaio desktop went from blue to amber during standby mode, which was pretty nice.  If I can't have the light always on white or amber, then I'd rather have the light completely off instead of flashing.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks

Computer: Dell Studio XPS, core i7, Windows Vista Home Premium

137 Posts

January 22nd, 2009 00:00

I that the lights are controlled by firmware on the motherboard rather rather than by the OS. If this is the case then there is no way to turn it off unless there is a bios option, and I doubt that there is.

482 Posts

January 22nd, 2009 09:00

Hey daruma13,

I do agree wiht the others, there is no BIOS/software method of altering this LED.

I found that it was a distraction when gaming on my 730 H2C X-panel, which I has set up to game with red leds, and there is the power and flashing memory led bright blue.  So I "fixed" the problem with a little bit of fingernail polish, which may seem like a radical mod on a multi thousand dollar machine, but it makes me more happy.   Now it is a "punk" machine complete with Red lights and Black fingernail polish, go figure.

If I ever get rid of the machine, a little polish remover, hopefully it will not mar the plastic finish.

Hope you enjoy your machine, I know that mine has made me very happy,